Impulse

ImpulseImpulse

Written By: Ellen Hopkins

Published By: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Read: August 20, 2015

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥


Goodreads Synopsis

Sometimes you don’t wake up. But if you happen to, you know things will never be the same.

Three lives, three different paths to the same destination: Aspen Springs, a psychiatric hospital for those who have attempted the ultimate act — suicide.

Vanessa is beautiful and smart, but her secrets keep her answering the call of the blade.

Tony, after suffering a painful childhood, can only find peace through pills.

And Conner, outwardly, has the perfect life. But dig a little deeper and find a boy who is in constant battle with his parents, his life, himself.

In one instant each of these young people decided enough was enough. They grabbed the blade, the bottle, the gun — and tried to end it all. Now they have a second chance, and just maybe, with each other’s help, they can find their way to a better life — but only if they’re strong and can fight the demons that brought them here in the first place.


I read several of Ellen Hopkins books in junior high/high school and I remember absolutely loving them. It has been almost ten years since I have read any of her books so I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy them like I used to. I was not disappointed and was so happy to find that I still think her books are just amazing.

Ellen Hopkin’s books are dark, they are not the type of book you pick up if you are looking for a light read. She discusses hard topics like drug use, sexual abuse, mental illness and suicide. She does it in such a wonderful way using a unique writing style. Her writing is written like poetry but reads like prose. It is a different style from anything else that I have read. The writing style makes the book fly by. Once I picked it up, I couldn’t put it down.

Vanessa, Tony and Conner all end up at Aspen Springs when they attempt to commit suicide. Each of their paths are very different but each led to a suicide attempt. As the point of view changes between each of the main characters we are able to learn about their pasts and take steps towards a happier future. This book was an honest and realistic account of depression and suicide. It was heartbreaking at times and full of hope at others. I highly recommend reading any of Ellen Hopkin’s books.

2015 Reading Challenge- A Book From An Author You Love That You Haven’t Read Yet

Recommended for Fans of: Realistic Fiction, Young Adult, and Poetry

Suggested to Read Next: Impulse

4 thoughts on “Impulse

  1. I used to love Ellen Hopkins as a teen because I was so interested in Mental Health. (so much that I became a mental health counsellor) I’ve noticed she has come out with way more books but I have never thought to read any of them as an adult. I might have to get on that!

    Like

  2. I’ve seen this book around quite a few times, but I never really knew what it was about or gave it much thought. Your review made it sound like something I would enjoy, though, so I think I’m definitely going to be checking into getting a copy of this. I’ve never read anything from this author, either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

