Hunter

HunterHunter

Written By: Mercedes Lackey

Published By: Disney-Hyperion

Read: August 8-9, 2015

Rating: ♥♥♥


Goodreads Synopsis

Centuries ago, the barriers between our world and the Otherworld were slashed open allowing hideous fantastical monsters to wreak havoc; destroying entire cities in their wake. Now, people must live in enclosed communities, behind walls that keep them safe from the evil creatures constantly trying to break in. Only the corps of teen Hunters with lightning reflexes and magical abilities can protect the populace from the daily attacks.

Joyeaux Charmand is a mountain girl from a close knit village who comes to the big city to join the Hunters. Joy thinks she is only there to perform her civic duty and protect the capitol Cits, or civilians, but as cameras follow her every move, she soon learns that the more successful she is in her hunts, the more famous she becomes.

With millions of fans watching her on reality TV, Joy begins to realize that Apex is not all it seems. She is forced to question everything she grew up believing about the legendary Hunters and the very world she lives in. Soon she finds that her fame may be part of a deep conspiracy that threatens to upend the protective structure built to keep dark magic out. The monsters are getting in and it is up to Joy to find out why.


When I received Hunter from NetGalley I looked through some of the reviews on Goodreads and they made me so nervous to read it. There were some good reviews here and there but most of them were at best mediocre. Now here I am writing my review and I am torn. I am giving this book a three out of five simply because my feelings on it are so mixed.

I actually really enjoyed the story. I thought that it was a fun new take on the often over played Dystopian genre. When the Diseray occurred, which is their apocalyptic event that changed the world, it opened up our world to creatures from the Otherside. The Othersiders are based on pretty much every mythological creature that you can think of. I thought this was really fun and it leaves endless possibilities for the rest of the series. At times it was a little overwhelming trying to keep track of all of the different characters and creatures but overall I really liked the story. I will definitely read the rest of the series.

As much as I enjoyed the story, the writing was very mediocre. The descriptions were lacking and at times repetitive. There were a few times when the poor word choice really detracted from the story. I think that I would have rated this book higher if there were some small improvements on the writing.

2015 Reading Challenge- A Book With Magic

Recommended for Fans of: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Adventure and Young Adult

Suggested to Read Next: Enclave

4 thoughts on “Hunter

  1. Thanks for the honest review! I have been torn about Mercedes Lackey’s writing over the last few years. It just doesn’t seem to be on the same level as her older works. I might still give this one a try because she is one of my favourite authors, but it won’t be for a while. I have too many other books to read before I give this one a shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also requested this from NG due to the pretty cover and the synopsis, but I am having such a hard time reading it, I sorely regret it now. Sorry to hear that you had a similar experience, I felt the writing couldn’t engage me despite the interesting premise.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

