We Were Liars

We Were LiarsWe Were Liars

Written By: E. Lockhart

Published By: Delacorte Press

Read: July 27-August 1, 2015

Rating: ♥♥♥♥


Goodreads Synopsis

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.


We Were Liars is one of those books that has been majorly hyped. Every review that I’ve read just made me even more intrigued. All of the reviews said that the twist was everything but refused to tell me anything! My amazing secret sister sent me a copy and I was so excited to read it. I was not disappointed!

The story primarily focused on Cadence Sinclair Eastman with the rest of the Sinclair family as supporting characters. Each year the rich and beautiful Sinclair family spend their summers on their private island. Life on Beechwood starts and stops with summer. Real life never bleeds into summer and life on the island never follows them home. At the end of summer fifteen Cadence is found barely clothed and soaked to the bone on the beach. She has no memory of what happened and suffers from severe migraines as a result of that night. When nobody is willing to give her any answers Cadence must struggle to find the truth on her own.

E. Lockhart was able to write a wonderful story that kept me guessing until the very end. I was anxious and edge throughout the entire book. The story was so much more than just the mystery revolving around that night, it was also about the turmoil and power struggle of a wealthy family. The cast of characters were funny and often times dark. The author wrote a story that was so well rounded. It had everything you can ask for and more.

I hate to say it, but I can’t tell you more or I would ruin the book! (I know, I am such a cliche.) The twist really is everything. 

2015 Reading Challenge-A Book That A Friend Recommended

Recommended for Fans of: Fiction, Mystery, Romance and Young Adult

Suggested to Read Next: Gone Girl

17 thoughts on “We Were Liars

  1. I love how you managed to make an amazing review of the book without giving anything away. I really liked this and it makes me want to read this book now.

    Like

  2. Just saw that you followed my blog and so I thought I’d come and check yours out! I found this review and I’m so glad I did as this book has been on my do I buy it or not list, and now I’m definitely going to be buying it!!
    Thanks for writing such great reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

