Water for Elephants

water for elephantsWater for Elephants

Written By: Sara Gruen

Published By: Algonquin Books

Read: July 25-26, 2015

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥


Goodreads Synopsis

Orphaned, penniless, Jacob Jankowski jumps a freight train in the dark, and in that instant, transforms his future.

By morning, he’s landed a job with the Flying Squadron of the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth. By nightfall, he’s in love.

In an America made colourless by prohibition and the Depression, the circus is a refuge of sequins and sensuality. But behind the glamour lies a darker world, where both animals and men are dispensable. Where falling in love is the most dangerous act of all…


I read this book as part of #TBRTakedown as a book that has been on my TBR for more than one year. I will keep my review short since this book has been out for many years, and has already been read and reviewed many times.

Jacob is a man who has lost everything in the span of a week. When he accidentally joins a circus he will find so much more than he bargained for. The love of a forbidden woman, an unlikely group of friends and an entire cast of circus animals that he yearns to protect. Every character is so unique and well thought out. I loved every character!

This book was such a fascinating read, I enjoyed every single page. It was beautifully written and heartbreaking at every turn. I flew through it and I highly recommend it!

2015 Reading Challenge- A Book That Became A Movie

Recommended for Fans of: Fiction, Historical Fiction, and Romance

Suggested to Read Next: The Help

6 thoughts on “Water for Elephants

  1. I still need to read this book, it was such a hype when I bought it, but I never got the chance to start it. I will definitely not forget about it now.

    Like

  2. I have read a few conflicting reviews about this book, some love it and others hate it, which is why it’s been on my TBR forEVER. I have never taken part in any kind of reading challenges or anything, where do you find them? Booktube? Or just wordpress? I’d love to take part. Love your blog by the way!

    Like

  3. I read this book quite a while ago, and I absolutely loved it. You’re right – it is such a beautifully written book, and it’s one of those that stay with you!

    Like

  4. I’m glad you enjoyed this, it’s one of my favourites! I have so many books that have been on my TBR for years too, really need to do something to get the list down…

    Like

Leave a Reply

