Champion

championChampion

Written By: Marie Lu

Published By: Putnam Juvenile

Read: July 11-14, 2015

Rating: ♥♥♥

You can buy this book here.


Goodreads Synopsis

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.


I have mixed feelings about Champion and the Legend series as a whole. In the never ending list of Dystopian novels these just sort of get lost somewhere in the middle. It was a good series, but it wasn’t amazing. The characters were well developed but I don’t feel attached to them. The author did a good job of world building but it didn’t feel new or unique. My final thoughts on the series are meh, it’s okay.

As far as Champion goes, it was a quick read. It was fast paced and laced with quite a bit of action. There was a lot going on with planning and strategy of the war. There were some new developments with the virus that also added to the plot. Everything seemed to lead right up to the end of the book which unfortunately felt anti-climatic. The ending seemed a bit rushed and as if she glazed right over all of the action. I was not a fan of the ending of the book. I was so disappointed with the direction that she took it. I was stunned! I kept thinking “Why are you doing this to me Marie?? You cruel, cruel woman.”. (Don’t worry she made up for it a little in the Epilogue.)

Reading this series won’t make your life any better or any worse. It is just another Dystopian series that falls in the middle of the pack. Marie Lu is a talented writer and I do plan to read her next series with the hope that it is a little more original and exciting.

2015 Reading Challenge- A Trilogy

Recommended for Fans of: Young Adult, Dystopia, Fantasy and Science Fiction

Suggested to Read Next: The Young Elites

3 thoughts on “Champion

  1. I haven’t read this series, but I get how you’re feeling. I get that it’s the way new authors get published, but sometimes I wish the YA market didn’t have to be so led by trend. It can sometimes feel like we’re reading the same book over and over.

    Like

  2. If I’m being completely honest, I absolutely adored Legend the first time I read it. It’s all because of Day. I never liked June and as I continued on in the series, I began to care less and less about all the characters. I do think that it’s slightly better than many other dystopian novels I’ve read but it’s not really anything super special.

    Like

Leave a Reply

