Prodigy

prodigyProdigy

Written By: Marie Lu

Published By: Putnam Juvenile

Read: June 28- July 11, 2015

Rating: ♥♥♥

You can buy this book here.


Goodreads Synopsis

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?


I am in a terrible reading slump. I have had a lot going on at work, the awesomeness that was the fourth of July and a beautiful wedding that I was lucky enough to attend. All of this lead to me having zero motivation to read. Then I started panicking that it had been so long since I had posted a review, which somehow made me want to read less. It made it feel like homework instead of reading for enjoyment. Not that I don’t love blogging, it just temporarily stressed me out. So I stepped away for a few days and just enjoyed some of the other parts of my life. I am glad that I did. I decided to read last night, finished Prodigy and can’t wait to finish this post so that I can start Champion. That all being said, let’s actually get to the review.

I rated Prodigy three out of five. In reality, the first half is a two and the second half is a four. The first half seemed so slow to me. There was a lot of time spent planning and discussing strategy that I found myself pretty bored. They discussed action taking place elsewhere or action that would happen in the future but there was actually very little action happening. I know that it was all building up towards the second half, but I was still disappointed.

The second half was more what I was expecting. There was more character development, especially in terms of relationships with other characters. There were great twists and turns in the plot, I was kept guessing for quite a while. And of course, heartbreak. Marie Lu can’t write a book without making you start loving a character and then taking that character away! She is just too good at it.

I preferred Legend to Prodigy, but in the end it was good enough to want to finish the series. Champion here I come.

2015 Reading Challenge- A Trilogy

Recommended for Fans of: Young Adult, Dystopia, Fantasy and Science Fiction

Suggested to Read Next: Champion

4 thoughts on “Prodigy

Leave a Reply

