The Importance of Being Earnest

Importance of Being EarnestThe Importance of Being Earnest 

Written By: Oscar Wilde

Read: May 14-15, 2015

Rating: 5 stars

You can buy this book here.


Goodreads Synopsis

Oscar Wilde’s madcap farce about mistaken identities, secret engagements, and lovers entanglements still delights readers more than a century after its 1895 publication and premiere performance. The rapid-fire wit and eccentric characters of The Importance of Being Earnest have made it a mainstay of the high school curriculum for decades.

Cecily Cardew and Gwendolen Fairfax are both in love with the same mythical suitor. Jack Worthing has wooed Gewndolen as Ernest while Algernon has also posed as Ernest to win the heart of Jack’s ward, Cecily. When all four arrive at Jack’s country home on the same weekend the “rivals” to fight for Ernest s undivided attention and the “Ernests” to claim their beloveds pandemonium breaks loose. Only a senile nursemaid and an old, discarded hand-bag can save the day!


The Importance of Being Earnest is a classic play written by Oscar Wilde. It is not the type of writing that I usually read but I am on a mission to read more classic literature. I was recently browsing through some popular lists of 100 Books to Read Before You Die and half of the books on the lists were classics that I had not read. (It was almost embarrassing how few of the classic novels I had read.) So I downloaded just about every classic that I could get my grubby little hands on, whether I knew what it was about or not.

Well, I started reading through all of the classics, and I know this may make some of you mad, but I didn’t fall in love with all of them. I actually read a few that left me wondering how it possibly became a classic. Just because something was written a long time ago doesn’t mean it is good. So I was pleasantly surprised when I read this play. I loved it! It was witty and funny. It was so much fun to read. I flew through it, which wasn’t very hard considering it was a little less than 80 pages on my Kindle.

For all of you doing the 2015 Reading Challange with me this is the perfect pick if you are trying to find a play to read. The story line is ridiculous in all the right ways. The characters were perfect and hilarious. If you don’t know how you feel about reading plays, start with this one.

2015 Reading Challenge- A Play

Recommended for Fans of: Classics, Humor and Plays

Suggested to Read Next:  A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Leave a Reply

